top of page

Owatonna Foundation Scholarship Recipients

During fall semester 2023, 10 individuals will use Owatonna Foundation scholarships to assist with their education costs. Since 1995 the Owatonna Foundation has awarded over 500 scholarships, totaling more than $744,000.

Traditional Scholarship Recipients—Awarded to 2023 Owatonna High School graduates who are attending a community or technical college.

·KatrinaButler, South Central College, Business Transfer Pathway, $2,000, parents Gerald Butler & Le Trinh

·Christopher Homuth, Riverland Community College, Construction Electrician, $2,000, parents Jackie & Barry Homuth

·Callie, Kreutter, Riverland Community College, Psychology Transfer Pathway, $2,000, parent Paula Johnson

·Jack Ruiter, Riverland Community College, Construction Electrician, $2,000, parents Tracy & Dan Ruiter

·Morgan Simon, Riverland Community College, Cosmetology, $2,000, parents Kristi & Matthew Simon

·Noah Wellnitz, Minnesota North Vermillion, Natural Resources Technology, $2,000, parents Valerie & Lamon Wellnitz

NonTraditional Scholarship Recipients—Awarded to Owatonna residents or individuals who have worked for an Owatonna business for the last two years and are attending a community or technical college.

·Joseph Earl, Minnesota North College – Vermillion (Ely), Criminal Justice – Police Science, $2,000, Mike & Joyce Earl

·Muna Hussein Mohamed, South Central College, Math, $2,500, parents Hussein Mohamed and Suleqo Ali

·Sabra Mullenmaster, Riverland Community College, Nursing, $3,000, spouse Cole Mullenmaster

June A and Melanie Nelson Scholarship—Sponsored by June and Melanie Nelson.

·Julia Christenson, University of Minnesota – Twin Cities, Data Science, $3,000, parents Kris & Yukari Christenson

For the 2023 – 2024 school year, $30,000 is available for traditional and nontraditional scholarships and $6,000 for Nelson scholarships. Nontraditional and Nelson scholarship applications are due October 25, 2023, and June 25, 2024. Traditional scholarships are due April 10, 2024.

Applications are available on the Foundation’s website, Scholarships, and Scholarships; at the Foundation’s office at 108 West Park Square, Owatonna; or from Jill Holmes at 455-3059.

Shown Below: Jack Ruiter, Joseph Earl, Noah Wellnitz, Christopher Homuth, Katrina Butler, Callie Kreutter, Julia Christenson, Megan Simon


bottom of page